Sex and the City 2 on the way

source: moviesblog.mtv.com

Sarah Jessica Parker has confirmed a sequel to the hit Sex and the City is being “enthusiastically” considered.

The film adaptation of the hit television show grossed over $400 million worldwide this year, shocking industry analysts by proving that there are in fact entities known as ‘women’ who enjoy ‘going to the movies’.

Parker spoke to MTV and discussed how she and writer/director Michael Patrick King are apparently mulling over story ideas, although don’t expect to see a Baby Big hanging off Carrie Bradshaw any time soon.

“[Motherhood] doesn’t seem as if that’s going to sufficiently be a choice she’ll make. It feels a little bit manipulative to toss that into the mix because she seems so pointed in a different direction,” she said.

Parker believes 2010 is the likeliest year of release, meaning the average age of the four main ladies would be approximately 1000-years-old by production. However, SJP is apprehensive about possibly flogging a dead horse by making countless sequels.

“I would do these forever but is it right for the audience? Is this the story that we can tell well? These are the questions I have to ask myself or I’m not being fair to the franchise.”

I am not a SATC fan, but I am fully aware that I’m not even remotely part of the target demographic. However, virtually every woman I know adores the show. Despite attempts from my girlfriend, I have only made it through the first 40 minutes of the Sex and the City Movie (which I maintain is a valiant effort), so I’m not really one to comment on a sequel.

So what do you fans think? Would you like to see the franchise continue, or has it been wrapped up sufficiently?

2 thoughts on “Sex and the City 2 on the way

  1. Are you kidding? Of course I’d watch a sequel. I’m another die hard fan who just can’t get enough. I’ve just started watching the shoebox from the beginning again only last week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

