What is ‘Twilight’, Plus Why Should I Care?

source: traileraddict.com

The final trailer for Twilight has hit the web, but it’s left me with one question. Umm, what’s Twilight?

Apparently it’s a series of books about vampires and teenagers and pouting – at least that’s what I’m picking up from the trailer.

According to the millions of readers around the world, the film adaptation is kind of a big deal.

Now I don’t want to incite the unrivalled fury of 13-year-old girls around the world, but this movie looks laa-ame.

And I’m pretty sure that main guy is just a clay mannequin.

Anyway, check the trailer out and let us know what you think. If anyone wants to educate me on the history of Twilight, feel free to punish my ignorance in the comment section.

http://www.traileraddict.com/emb/6849

Directed by Catherine Hardwicke, and starring Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson, Twilight opens December 11.

8 thoughts on “What is ‘Twilight’, Plus Why Should I Care?

  1. Hi Simon, Twilight is the first book in a four book series written by Stephenie Meyer. The series has an enormous almost cult-like following, and the books are hugely successful. Twilight is essentially a love story. The love is between a vampire and a human girl, which adds a supernatural twist to the story. There is also plenty of action that comes from being involved in the vampire world. A lot more happens in the following books, but that is the basis of the first one.I’m surprised you haven’t heard of Twilight before! It has become a huge phenomenon, and its popularity is only growing each day. I’ll admit, the plot does sound kind of cheesy. I thought so before reading the books. But then I gave them a chance and fell in love with the series. The story is so beautiful. And that is why so many people are so devoted to the books.Summit Entertainment has taken on the task of adapting the book into a movie. They vowed to stay true to Meyer’s story. Of course some details have been changed to make a better movie, but I think the intent is to keep the essence of the story.It is interesting to see that not being a fan of the books the trailer doesn’t interest you. I think most of the fandom loves the trailer, because we have read the books. But you shouldn’t have to read the books to enjoy the movie, they are two separate entities. I have heard some people who are not book fans say they liked the trailer. I think advertisers are trying to capture the interest of people who are not fans, because they already have a built-in fan base of the books. Most of these fans will go see the movie (possibly several times).The hype for this movie is getting larger as the November 21st release date draws nearer. Right now, the trailer is on the brink of beating the record number of trailer views in one week. And it has only been out for four days. This would make it the most watched video in the history of the internet. Considering this is a very low budget movie from a relatively unknown production company, this would be quite an outstanding feat. We’ll have to wait and see if all of this excitement translates into box office money.Also, I wanted to let you know that the Twilight fan base is not only comprised of crazed 13-year-old girls. I think this is a big and common misconception. There is a huge organization called the TwilightMoms, made up of women over the age of 25. There are also many men who enjoy the books.Though Twilight is not for everyone, by researching a bit I’m sure you will be able to see how big of a phenomenon it has become. I hope this gives you a better idea of what Twilight is. If you have anymore questions about it, let me know! :]-Leah

    Like

  2. Nice one Leah;when I saw a long comment like that, i was certain I was about to have my head ripped off by a crazy fan.But I must say, a very composed and informative introduction to Twilight. thanks for taking the time!what amazes me is that this trailer is that it is about to become the most viewed video on the internet. compare this trailer to another highly anticipated film based on a (even more classic) book – oh, say Watchmen. Now, many people haven’t read Watchmen – but the trailer is really getting them interested in the film. To people outside of Twilight readers however (ie, everyone I know) this film looks totally naff. But im sure Twilight will gross a ridiculous amount, so I know I’m in the minority. just interesting is all.

    Like

  3. Sorry Leah, whilst I’m sure teenage girls aren’t the ONLY audience for these books, they’re certainly the majority.I haven’t read them myself, but I was pleasantly surprised at that preview, it certainly looks more interesting and edgy than your average teen movie. I might give it a go myself.

    Like

  4. I have just finished reading the forth book in the “Twilight” series. As a guy, I think it’s great. It might be partly about the romance between Bella and Edward, but it is also how this effects their lives. Being around a vampire, while being a mortal.It is a really great read. Don’t dis the idea of vampires for a movie such as this, until you have read the books. All the characters are very well developed, and each book has a major storyline. They all flow together, so you wont be able to miss the first book/movie, and see the second.Thankfully I work at a cinema, and will probably get to see the film early – a perk of the job!See Twilight!

    Like

  5. Just wondering to the Twilight fans, since I haven’t read the book – is the dialogue the same as the movie? Because I think that’s what makes it naff. This story can be made into something really great but it seems to me the dialogue explains everything giving the actors no room to actually act, they’re just narrating the story. I’ve read a lot about fans saying the movie should have got a bigger budget (it seems fans aren’t happy with the trailer themselves). I personally don’t think it needs a bigger budget (when I saw the first Harry Potter movie it actually put me off the books. Shows you money isn’t everything) just more script work and a better actor for the vampire no offense but he can’t even narrate well. I do think the studios are relying on the fan base to bring the money, the trailer is cut for plot and at the end leaves you feeling empty, so they aren’t trying to get across any mood for the film for non fans (like Australia, the trailers have little to no dialogue because they know the dialogue is naff and they don’t even bother with the plot, just pretty pics and good music) but I have no doubt it will gross millions, though I doubt the franchise will go any further if they continue the naff (even Harry Potter upped its game in the next films). In my opinion I wouldn’t see this film based on this trailer because it doesn’t seem any different to other Romeo and Juliet love stories I’ve seen. Just because he’s a vampire doesn’t change his banal personality. When you watch a love story you want characters that make you wish they’d get together. These characters seem lacking in every ounce of personality I wouldn’t care if they fell of the face of the earth.

    Like

  6. Hey,To the last anonymous person that said that the story was lacking and the male lead, Edward, was banal, that is the exact opposite. He is basically the embodiment of the perfect man. He was born in 1901 and therefore was raised with many different virtues, morals, and he is extremely chivalrous. Edward isn’t really perfect in reality because he’s a bit overbearingly protective and isn’t very openminded to the werewolves later in the series. One werewolf is actually one of Bella’s best friends. So really, this isn’t like many other love stories. Others focus on problems like homecoming. This focuses with life and death situations. Edward constantly wants to drink Bella’s, the other lead, blood because it is the best smelling blood to him that he has encountered in his 80 years as a vampire. He leaves her in the second book because he thinks that he isn’t good enough for her and that it is too dangerous for her. He ends up hurting both of them in the process. Not just the stupid oh im so upset kind of hurt. The kind that doesn’t allow you to sleep, or breathe, or do anything. Edward tries to kill himself in that book because he thinks that she is dead. He wants to save her from eternal damnation and an eternity of night by keeping her human. In the end, he knows changing her is for the best because of her clutziness and danger magnet status. This is also what she has been begging for since the first book – to be a vampire. He can’t deny her anything and would do anything to make her happy. He loves to spoil her, open her door, buy her cars, “bribe colleges”, and just anything and everything. You truly don’t find anyone like that anymore. He doesn’t jump on the chance to sleep with her. He makes them both wait for marriage because of his 20th century morals. He is the “perfect” man through his flaws. Every girl that reads the series, whether team jacob, team edward, or team switzerland (both), wants a guy like that. Edward may be a piece of eyecandy, but what everyone really wants is the intense love story, the perfect morals, and that I will literally do anything attitude. He is not a banal character whatsoever. He is deep in every way possible. I may be a bit biased because I am in love with him, but you can read the books. It is hard not to love him because of his compelling character. The most popular idea from Twilight is not vampires, but that “Stephenie Meyer has ruined all potential relationships” because he just is like that. The embodiment of what every person wants somewhere in their heart. He is truly Edward Cullen. The “perfect” guy.

    Like

  7. “Edward constantly wants to drink Bella’s, the other lead, blood because it is the best smelling blood to him that he has encountered in his 80 years as a vampire”If Edward doesn’t represent the virginal rage of a sex-obsessed teen, i don’t know what’s what.

    Like

Leave a Reply

