Shyamalan’s Spirit is ‘Unbreakable’ – Is a Sequel in the Works?

source: mtv.com

M. Night Shyamalan was going to be the next Steven Spielberg. That was the way it was supposed to go down, back when The Sixth Sense grossed over $670 million worldwide, and netted him a Oscar nomination for Best Director. Obviously, things didn’t go quite to plan.

“I can’t believe what’s ‘Happening’… to my career!”

His last three films were critically reviled and commercial flops. I remember when I saw The Happening in a full cinema earlier this year. It got more laughs than Harold and Kumar.

The most tragic part of the story is that Shyamalan is a supremely talented director. He has an incredible eye for visuals, and there are moments in even his worst films that are pretty amazing.

I for one believe Signs to be a brilliant film, and most people I speak to seem to agree. Where we clash heads however, is over Unbreakable.

Originally conceived as the first in a trilogy, Unbreakable is about the sole survivor (Bruce Willis) of a horrific train wreck. It was basically the origin story for a new superhero, one that existed in the real world. However, the marketing campaign painted the film as The Sixth Sense 2.0; just another strange story with a twist ending. The film was a financial hit, but those that were disappointed started the unstoppable backlash machine.

I think Unbreakable is a great film – a really interesting movie, and an especially interesting superhero film. It sits amongst other origin films like Spiderman and Batman Begins pretty comfortably.

Now, after the embarrassing ‘Happening’, Shyamalan’s thoughts have returned to his Unbreakable universe. He told MTV:

“I genuinely just asked this question the other day — should I make ‘Unbreakable 2’?”

OK, so it’s not exactly a confirmation. But Samuel L. Jackson seems keen to work with Night again:

Every time I see [Shyamalan], he says, ‘I’ve written this thing for you,’ so I say, ‘why are you always doing these movies I’m not in?’”

So while nothing is certain now, could it be time for Shyamalan to give us Unbreakable 2? I mean Willis and Jackson will pretty much appear in anything, so why not? And I can’t see Shyamalan resurrecting his career any time soon. Unless you’re a fan of The Last Airbender, which he’s adapting for the screen in 2010.

What do you think? Can M. Night make a comeback? Would you like to see a sequel to Unbreakable? Can anyone explain what that whole sequence with the old lady in The Happening was about? Anybody?!

Leave a Reply

